New Student Council members formally sworn in

By Uwimana Oscar

Upon the election of the new student council members that took place Tuesday on July 12, 2022, the newly elected members were sworn into office on Wednesday, July 20, 2022 by the Director, Legal Services. The ceremony was attended by the DVC Academic and Student Affairs, the Associate Deputy Vice Chancellor-Student Affairs, the Senior Clubs Coordinator, the Electoral Commission officials and the incoming and outgoing officials and the students.

In his remarks, Prof. Munyae Mulinge, DVC Academic and Student Affairs congratulated all the winners and appreciated all the candidates for the participation. He also mentioned that at a good working relationship is expected of them as it was with the outgoing Student Council leadership.

The Director Legal Services Ms. Helen Ombima congratulated the new student leadership and exhorted them to ponder and take seriously the oath that they took, adding that in the event of challenges, they needed to remember the day they were sworn in and endeavor to serve their constituents.

In her remarks, the Associate Deputy Vice Chancellor-Student Affairs, Mrs. Ritah Asunda thanked the Electoral Commission for the hard work in organizing and running the election.

“Part of the student growth is participating in student election, and we thank the student council for being brave and volunteering to lead and serve”, she said.

The seven-member Council is made up of the following students:

  • Chairperson - Kaut Bernard
  • Vice Chairperson - Wambugha Sarafina Saru
  • Treasurer - Kaushik Bhimji
  • Secretary General - Grace Mwangi
  • Social Welfare and Gender Matters - Kesuma Mkare Laizer
  • International Students’ Representative - Arnold Nyato
  • Representative for Persons with Disabilities - Jacinta Akuwom

Social Media