alumni agm
Members of the newly re-elected Alumni Association Executive Committee pose with members of Alumni Association following the Annual General Meeting held on campus on Saturday, July 1, 2017. Photo Credit: Office of Alumni Affairs

The Alumni Association Annual and Special General Meeting was held on 1st July 2017 at the USIU-Africa Library Bookshop. The meeting was attended by alumni cutting across different graduation years and programs. The meeting resolved and met the compliance requirements of the Registrar of Societies as well as the strategic governance pillar defined by the sitting executive in 2015.

The meeting started with a confirmation of quorum, and was then followed by the approval and adoption of previous minutes.  The Chairperson’s report was then given by the 2015 AGM elected Chairperson, Ms. Dorothy Sagwe, highlighting the key achievements of her team for the last two years. Some of the year’s key highlights have been the filing of return of books with the Registrar of Societies from 1995 to date, monthly meetings between the Association and the USIU-Africa Management Board, constant engagement with different interest groups within the association (such as the February 2017 Tech Women Conference themed, “She believed she could; so she did STEM”).

All 73 individuals who had served the association in the Executive Committee and Board of Trustees since 1995 were also recognized when their names and year of service were read out to members. This was to formally recognize their diligence and dedication to the Association and the university during their respective terms.

The Treasurer - Mr. George Rutto (IBA ’04) - presented his report, following which the members adopted the Association’s Financial statements for the financial years 2014/2015 and 2015/2016, presented by the auditors.

The current Alumni Association officials were re-elected as follows: Dorothy Sagwe (Chairperson – IBA ‘98), Ian Mukuria (Vice Chairperson- IBA ‘99), Kalekye Mumo (Chairperson, Public Relations Committee – IR ‘00), Charles Mwakio (Chairperson, Membership Committee – IBA ‘12), George Rutto (Treasurer – IBA ‘04), Hassan Bashir (Chairperson, Alumni Executive Network – IBA ’96; MBA ‘00) and Dr. Jacob Ogolla (Member – MOD ’07; DBA ‘16)

The new team pledged to ensure a comprehensive member benefits program is rolled out as well as an alumni scholarship fund.